“stopper” in life…

Precepts can always help yourself to see better and also act as "stopper" for unwholesome thought and also action.

Precepts can always help yourself to see better and also act as “stopper” for unwholesome thought and also action.

Some of my friend shared with me that ” I am not ready to take any precepts, I’ll only receive any precepts when I am 100% able to follow.” I shared with her that, “Whenever you see red traffic light, automatically you are going to stop your driving and only proceed your driving in green light. It equivalent the same when you receive precepts, it act as a security guard or “red traffic light” to stop you from any unwholesome thoughts and action. Even if you don’t take any precepts, you are responsible for your Karma.”

She asked:” What if I can’t follow the precepts, am I going to receive “double penalty”?” I mentioned, ” Of course, not. Say a lay people and a judge also convicted in the same crime, Is the judge going to receive more penalty as he or she know the law well?” Why not take a great opportunity to let the precepts to protect you from any unwholesome thoughts or actions?

I would like to share my personal experience that one day, I went to Post office to renew car road tax. I press the waiting number and suddenly one of the nice elderly uncle, he passed a waiting number, 0029 to me and said take this one instead of my number, 0031. Of course, I said thank you to his kindness. Suddenly, I saw another uncle was holding the waiting number, 0030.

Immediately,  honest thought arisen and I walked to the uncle who was holding 0030, I shared with him on what was happened and I exchanged my waiting number to him. He was stunned with my honesty and said thank you with a big smile. I am truly happy that I took the right action as I am honest to myself and bring happiness to others. Imagine, if I jump queue, I am sure it will cause unhappiness, anger to the uncle who was holding 0030 and he was taken the number before me.

Another example, whenever people count wrongly on my grocery bill, I’ll definitely return the amount to cashier. Even though, it was not my fault and I don’t want the cashier to lose money to pay the difference of the bill. I am always honest as being guard by precepts.

How nice to follow precepts!

 

 

 

 

 

5 responses to ““stopper” in life…

Leave a Reply

