Life experience is the best teacher…

Happy Weekend! Always to forgive yourself one more time for your unwholesome thoughts and actions. Repent and make a vow, not to repeat again. Always remind yourself , You are beautiful and you are heading to the path of awakening.

Happy Weekend! Always to forgive yourself “one more time” for your unwholesome thoughts and actions. Repent and make a vow, not to repeat again. Always remind yourself , You are beautiful and you are heading to the path of awakening.

Are you setting a high and different standard to people who follow spiritual practice?

Are you assume this group of practitioners are free from all wholesome action?

Are you giving perception that spiritual practitioners are perfect and fully awaken?

Sometimes, most of us love to set high standard and give strict evaluation and judgement to spiritual practitioners. Some even assume that spiritual practitioners might be awaken, free of greed, anger and delusion, free from sickness and others unwholesome action.

Let’s contemplate…

Why are we following spiritual path?

We would like to let go our unwholesome action and also free ourselves from greed, anger, delusion, ego and doubt, and enjoy freedom and peacefulness. Some might even shared that before spiritual practice, they don’t have so much unwholesome thoughts arisen in their mind, it become more and more after following spiritual practice. Do you think, is it progress or regression?

Before following spiritual practice, your mind is always not at NOW, wander from past to future. You are even not aware or mindful on the arisen of thoughts. And now with the spiritual practice, your mind is always at Now, it’s so easy for you to discover more and more thoughts arisen and fall. As such, you notice your thoughts, so you might claim you’ve more unwholesome thoughts after following spiritual practice.

One of my teacher shared with us, when he was stay in hospital due to sickness, one of his disciple saw him and the first sentence he said was ” I don’t expect to see you here.” My teacher got a shock with the statement as the disciple assumed that “Monk shouldn’t get sick.”

From my personal experience, one of the incident happened when I was so frustrated with my work and I felt my anger was burning inside, What I did was I threw the calculator on the table, of course it create a “sound”.  Immediately, my colleague asked “What happen to you? You are the spiritual practitioner, you shouldn’t behave in such a way, you shouldn’t be angry with yourself.”

Of course, I am a spiritual practitioner who are in the process of learning on letting go all unwholesome thoughts and action. However, I am not fully awaken and moreover, “I am a human being.” I am fully aware on my anger, I repent on my unwholesome action for causing “disturbances” to others and I vow I’ll be more mindful on my action.”

What a great lesson in life that to understand that don’t give higher judgement to spiritual practitioner and don’t assume they are “perfect”. Most important,always look inward and not immediately jump to finding faults in others. Besides, whenever we are wrong, please take repent, not to repeat the same incident again and move on. Don’t stuck, blame and felt guilty in yourself. For my case, there is meaningless to penalize myself again and again for the “anger”, I can’t rewind the time and erase the incident. Whatever happened, let it go, learn, repent and restart. Don’t let the past to control your happiness and peacefulness.

 

 

4 responses to “Life experience is the best teacher…

  1. You threw a calculator?? Hmmm, sounds fine to me.

    I have an extremely foul mouth that I am constantly reminded of by my parents. Sometimes I will lose my cool and curse.

    I guess the point is that as humans we find comfort in our evils. Without anger when faced with a hostile situation, we would only destroy ourselves, as our emotion would not have an outlet.

    Being, ummm, nasty (?) allows us to deal with the feeling of being hurt or upset by a situation. It doesn’t even need to be directed at anybody as long as it is not ourselves.

    Thank you for reminding the world that even a practising Buddhist will react in the same way as anybody else in harsh times.

    🙂

    • Hi! Our ultimate aim of practice is letting go of greed, anger, delusion, ego, doubt and all unwholesome thoughts and action. I am still in the process of learning and practicing. The best method, “I am aware I am angry and I am not react to this emotion.” Once we are angry, our mind and body are full of toxins. We are just like “monster” who bring negativity and suffering to surrounding. As such, let’s continue our practice until attain awakening. With metta, Li Jiun

  2. Thanks for sharing these thoughts. I find that my life becomes simpler when I just focus on my meals, sleep and elimination (normal bathroom visits) in additional to paying attention to my sweet breathing.

    Have a nice Sunday.

Leave a Reply

