What is suffering?

Light up your life on the right path, contemplate "What is suffering?"

Light up your life on the right path, contemplate “What is suffering?”

When we are live our life without mindfulness and consciousness, we don’t realize “suffering” happen in our life all the time.

The 1st noble truth, the teaching from Buddha,

“What is the noble suffering?

Birth is suffering,

Aging is suffering,

sickness is suffering,

Dissociation from loved is suffering,

not to get what one wants is suffering:

in short the five categories affected by clinging are suffering.

There is this Noble Truth of suffering: such was vision, insight, wisdom, Knowing and light arose in me about things not heard before.

This Noble Truth must be penetrated by fully understanding suffering:  such was vision, insight, wisdom, Knowing and light arose in me about things not heard before.

This Noble Truth has been penetrated by fully understanding suffering:  such was vision, insight, wisdom, Knowing and light arose in me about things not heard before.”

(Samyutta Nikaya LVI,11)
Today, I’ve learned a great lesson.
I paid a visit to a company, as a visitor, Normally we  need to register and pass our Driving license to the security guard. After that, they’ll give us a visitor tag.
This is meant for security purpose.
I followed the same procedure. When I left the company, it was heavy downpour.
In order not to get wet, I stopped my car at the security booth under shade,  just wanted to pass the visitor tag and got back my driving license. However, the security guard asked me to move to other lane (without shade), so that car at the back can pass through.
I followed his instruction, there were many thoughts in my mind:
“Why he is no consideration and poor customer service?”
“Why he asked me to walk down from the car under the heavy downpour?”
“Why can’t he passed back my driving license? Perhaps it less than 30 sec?”
“Why must he followed the rule 100%?
“Why can’t he make adjustment based on actual scenario?”
“Why?” “Why?” “Why?”
With mindfulness, I observe: “There is anger”, “There is ego”, “There is suffering”.
However, “Who is the one create suffering?”
The answer is so CLEAR!
It was great to be mindful and conscious in life.
Take time to recognize, “There is suffering”, “It should be understood”, “It has been understood.”
Follow the right path!
7 responses to “What is suffering?

Leave a Reply

