Aspiration…

Make aspiration which can benefit to all beings….

Make aspiration which can benefit to all beings….

Sometimes, when you pass by the lorry which transport the livestock?

e.g. many chickens in the little cage, many ducks in the little cage….

Basically, most of them are on the way to the path of dying, either to the market or the factory which going to kill them.

How do you feel?

Are you ignore them?

Have you ever link them to the “meat” you are taking?

Do you consider them as “Life”?

Are you sad? Are you in sorrow?

To me, every time, when I see the “Cage Livestock”,

I can feel the fear, the pain, the separation, the stress from them.

I am so helpless, I can’t do much to help them,

The only thing I can do for them, to give my blessing, “May them relieve from suffering. May them to be reborn in higher realm” and make aspiration that more people will be awakening, to see life in animals, to treat life equally, not to kill them but to love them.”

We might be so helpless in handle a lot thing in life, however, do not give up, keep making aspiration.

Let’s contemplate about the below quote from Shantideva

“With folded hands,I beseech the Buddhas of all directions to shine the lamp of dharma,
For all bewildered In the gloom of misery.I join my hands, beseeching the enlightened ones

Who wish to pass beyond the bonds of sorrow;

Do not leave us in our ignorance;

Remain among us for unnumbered ages.

And through these actions now performed,

By all the virtue i have just amassed,

May all the pain of every living being,

Be wholly scattered and destroyed.

For all those ailing in the world,

Until their every sickness has been healed,

May I myself become for them

The doctor, nurse and medicine itself.

My body, thus, and all my goods besides,

And all my merits gained and to be gained,

I give them all away withholding nothing

To bring about the benefit of beings.

May I be a guard for those who are protectorless,

A guide for those who journey on the road.
For those who wish to go across the water,
May I be a boat, a raft, a bridge.”

 

 

19 responses to “Aspiration…

  1. I believe that animals and humans are equal. Eating meat may be a natural part of life, but factory farming certainly isn’t! If I had just 1 wish it would be to remove the suffering from animals who deserve so much better…

  2. A beautiful post, Li Jiun, and I share your feelings for all being raised so others may simply use their bodies for their own selfish ends. This includes the young women of so many places on Earth, the young men conscripted for war, the caterpillars whose cocoons are unwound for silk, the fish, the shark, and the animals in laboratories. Blessing them, remembering them, and making aspiration for enlightenment is a step towards helping all. Best wishes, WG

  3. I have witnessed the movement of animals in trucks passing me by, the fear and unhappiness of the animals are a hard thing to get over after hearing their helpless cries.

  4. Pingback: Aspiration… | Be Well And Happy·

  5. Perhaps it is their place in the karmic wheel to be born into a being that serves others. If the lion doesn’t eat the gazelle, the lion dies. If I’m murdered by someone, I die. Death is all part of the natural process until we transcend it. Express gratitude for the universe regarding the food you consume, but there is no reason to feel guilt or shame about being born into a creature that is omnivorous. Feel compassion for that which serves you and feel compassion for those you serve. If a lion eats me one day, it won’t be an evil act, just the way of nature.

    Just my 2cents, lol. Also, excellent piece! Be well!!

    • Hi! The law of nature, the predators & prey. However, Human is intelligent, we can think, contemplate, we know how to differentiate what is right or wrong. We can survive well even though we consume vegetarian food. so, why we need to cause suffering to other beings? May you be well and happy!

  6. I think we are getting closer. So many meat eaters have adopted Meatless Mondays, and some I know have become pescetarians. There is also greater awareness about where the meat, diary, and eggs come from and there are many people who select free range over caged animals. I think we will get there one day, one small step at a time.

    • Excellence news! Let’s live by example to convey on how important to be a vegetarian to reduce suffering of others and o save this beautiful earth! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

